NGLVC: That’s a Wrap!

For many years when we lived in our house, I was an avid scrapbooker, with a whole room dedicated and designed for my crafting. I subscribed to all the scrapbook magazines, entered the contests, occasionally did some paid work, had my creations published a few times, and, as I have since I was a child, simply adored working with snips and bits. A trend that you could often see in the magazines from the “scrapbook celebrities” was the making of pages on which the photos were taken in order to create a scrapbook page instead of recording what happened organically. Some people would even take pictures of their bee-stung or knee-scraped children before tending to them in order to make a boo-boo page using those “cute little bandage stickers I found!” I understand we all pose for pictures, take the occasional selfie, edit some photos a little, etc., and I really have no problem with that. Each creator has license. For me and this blog and life, though, I strive to take very few staged photos. We record what we actually do and don’t do things just to manufacture blog fodder. All of that is to explain the lengthy gap in my posting, suffering a lack of many original activities to record in our final weeks here.

Having said all that, let’s start with a staged picture of pie, which I did not make for the blog, but rather to snarf.

This is a no-bake Paleo Banana Cream Pie, the only change I made to the recipe is that I used walnuts instead of almonds in the crust. It did not set up as firmly as it was supposed to, but it stayed on the crust and it was, according to TBG, refreshing! An easy, healthy pie for people like me with a defective oven.

An activity we’d been keeping in our back pockets but which we postponed the first time due to smoky air quality was rescheduled and enjoyed a few weeks ago. A ferry ride to Madeline Island! When I’d mentioned earlier this season to my sweet, super-knowledgeable NGLVC co-worker, Rose, that we were eventually planning this excursion, she promptly got on the phone and arranged VIP passes for us.

Madeline is one of the 22 Apostle Islands, but it is not part of the National Lakeshore because it was permanently inhabited when the park was established. The ferries travel several times a day between Bayfield on the mainland to La Pointe on Madeline from spring break-up until winter freeze-up, at which point people walk, ice-sail, or drive across on the frozen lake. During the thaw, you can walk, bike, or drive onto the ferry. For our adventure, we parked the car in Bayfield (plenty of free parking) and wheeled our bikes down to the ferry dock.

Madeline offers visitors everything from luxury accommodations to rustic camping, bicycle/scooter rentals, water adventures and rentals, etc. all located in La Pointe. The bulk of the island is rural homesteads and parks. Our goal was to bike the six miles of dedicated bike lane to Big Bay State Park where entrance is free on a bicycle. There is a 17-mile bike loop around the island, but according to those who had gone before us, once you leave the pavement for the gravel back half of the loop, there are no real worthy views. Bicycles are only allowed on the paved roads in the state park, so we came prepared to rack them in order to walk some of the trails. Shortly after boarding the ferry, TBG realized we’d forgotten the bike locks, and there was some kerfuffling over what would happen when we got to the park. What happened was I put my bike in the rack and took my chances, while TBG rode a little ways down the road from the parking lot and stashed his in the woods when no one was looking. I’m happy to report both were right where we’d left them when we returned from longer hiking than we’d anticipated, much of it on a fabulous boardwalk.

Here’s what I can say about Madeline: It is beautiful. If we were only going to be in this area for a few days, we would seriously consider ferrying the RV over and staying in the state park’s lovely campground. Everything the area has to offer is accessible from the island or on the island itself.

When we arrived back in La Pointe, we headed to Grampa Tony’s for some well-earned treats. I parked TBG under a tree with the bikes and waited in a long line of masked and sweaty people to get us an order of fries and a couple cups of delicious Wisconsin ice cream.

We had a happy, peaceful time, one of our favorite experiences of the summer.

Although the VC remained mostly closed, the center was still able to hold its annual Who Goes Bump in the Night? boardwalk hike and presentation on a full-moon evening. TBG and I walked over and attended as visitors.

My favorite was the bat station, mostly because it featured a real big brown bat named Echo! Our coworkers did a really nice job, making it a fun, interesting evening.

Speaking of full moons, TBG went over to the tower to capture the latest one. He also got a shot of the Chequamegon Bay Lighthouse as it signaled across the bay.

Our air quality continued to be pretty dismal many days, and when there wasn’t smoke (which was almost never in the past month,) the pollen counts went back up. Neither of us is allergic that we’re aware of, but when counts are high, everyone gets a little sneezy and itchy.

On a day that looked nice but smelled heavily of smoke, we decided it would be a good one to re-visit Copper Falls S.P. not only to pick up some of the hiking we didn’t do the first time, but also in hopes that being further south would make it less smoky. Happily it was, and as we headed across the parking lot, TBG recognized a couple we’d oriented with, one a seasonal NPS ranger, the other an NPS volunteer, who are spending their summer out on Stockton Island, and who area apparently having a much different summer than we are! Their remoteness in terms of supplies, electricity, connectivity, etc. would not have appealed to us for three+ months, but the more active, outdoor lifestyle sure would have. Anyhow, it was nice to see them and catch up, after which we set off for our hike.

There was a lot of green!

There were a lot of stairs!

There was solitude when we intersected with the North Country Scenic Trail and some potentially tick-infested overgrown sections, where we did not, fortunately, pick up any hitchhikers.

There were three falls to see, Copper, Brownstone, and Red Granite, the last we saw the first time, the first two we saw both times. See?

It wasn’t a long hike (the data above is missing some mileage) but it helped to displace our doldrums a bit to get back out onto some actual trails.

I continued with my birding, going out at least once a week to specifically look for my feathered friends, but also spending time most mornings and many evenings watching at my feeders, our VC trails, and around the farmstead. The southern migration has begun for many species, their activity ramping up then dropping dramatically in a short time span. I logged 60+ species over the summer, some new to me, some old favorites, all delighting me and sustaining my critter-loving soul.

As I write, we still have one week remaining in our time here. The calendar for the upcoming week is marked with two more meet-ups with friends, a birthday, and various tasks that need to be completed before we pull up stakes. All of that may or may not show up in a subsequent blog post, so this will be my last formal post about our time here.

I don’t want to end with a laundry list of what we liked and didn’t like about our summer — I think it’s been obvious over the course of my posts, and if not, you got some re-readin’ to do. What I would like to end with is a shout-out to the people we worked directly with at the NGLVC. They were welcoming, kind, helpful, and generous. As our time wound down, they each expressed to us how sad they were that it was almost time for us to leave, wanting us to stay longer, both surprising and touching us.

Thank you, each and every one of you, from the bottoms of our hearts.

The End.

15 thoughts on “NGLVC: That’s a Wrap!

  1. I really appreciate the tip about Madeline Island. Your photos of that area, the lakeshore trail, and two visits to Copper Falls SP are making those all must-do items for us next summer when we are in the area. And I don’t care one bit that these were not all in one post entitled “best things for Shannon to do next summer in this area.” I am a sucker for chronological order, I guess.

    Glad to hear that your summer gig ended on a somewhat satisfying note, with confirmation that you picked a duty station that worked for your needs and that you made a positive impression on your coworkers. Good luck remembering how to hitch up!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think you’d be happy if you paid a bit more to haul the Airstream out to Big Bay’s campground. Next year, you’ll also have the advantage (hopefully!) of the company that runs the Grand Tours (like the sightseeing one they took us on) will again be running their island taxi service, and you’ll be able to go out and spend some time on a few different islands. Glad you liked my order of “advice” 😀

      I hope we remember how to travel/move, too! It’s always interesting after a lengthy stay. Eek.

      Like

  2. Oh, I want to go to Madeline Island! A ferry ride, biking, and hiking sounds like the perfect trifecta of fun. So according to your mileage, did you bike a total of 12 miles and hike for almost 10? I’m figuring that based on what you said about wanting to ride the 6-mile trail in the park. That boardwalk trail is beautiful, and so are the trails in Copper Falls SP, which has been in our plans for two years now.

    I’m so glad you got to enjoy some of your favorite things as you wrap up your stay in Wisconsin. Thanks for giving us a preview of our trip next summer and some great ideas for things to do in the area. My only reservation is that we really don’t want to be mired in smoke. 😦 You guys certainly made the most of your time there despite the smoke and the pandemic closures. I can easily understand why the folks at the NGLVC don’t want to turn loose of you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I have no doubt you will get to Madeline Island when you’re up here & that you will enjoy a similar ferry/bike/hike adventure! Plus all the stuff we couldn’t do. Our numbers were more like ~17 miles of biking total and ~5 of hiking (it’s 6 miles to the park from La Pointe) I hope the fires aren’t bad again next summer, but they do burn up the ticks 😐 I’m pretty sure you’ll have a great time up here — it’s a wonderful place to visit, as they say 😉

      Like

  3. What, you don’t want to blog about your “day in the life”? “First, I got up and made coffee. Unfortunately, I was out of Dunkin Donuts brand and had to use Folgers…Oh, the drama!!!” 🙂

    I love, love the very green trails, even if it does mean having to look out for ticks, and your trip to the island looked great.

    I’m sure you’re happy to be heading out, but it seems like you made the most of your time given constraints beyond your control, and I’m sure you made plenty of people’s visits a bit brighter and more informative. The best part is you met plenty of nice people and obviously made some good connections. In this time of endless, ‘social distancing,’ I’d take that as a huge win.

    Safe travels as you get moving again!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Well, if I get enough requests, I will be happy to wax poetic about my mornings at the wash-o-rama or the adventures at the grocery store!

      Despite the dry season, it has been very green, or at least greener than we’ve been used to with so much time in the SW. Speaking of which, we are happy to get moving again towards there, looking to dry out, cool down, and test our snake-spotting abilities again. 😐 The biggest bummer, is that once again, we’re moving in opposite directions from you!

      Like

  4. Overall, it sounds like you had a successful summer experience given all the constraints thrown at you with continuous changes. Glad you had a wonderful last adventure. Love you final photo!! Safe travels where ever the roads lead you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Even though it wasn’t all we’d hoped for, we do count the summer as a win overall, especially because of our coworkers. I’m excited for and a little jealous of our friends who will be up this way next summer without the constraints (hopefully!!) They’re in for a glorious time!

      We’ll be making our way to the SW again, and you never know who we’ll run into 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It sure looked like your summer was a mixed bag, thanks to Covid/Delta 😦
    But you sure made the best of your time while there. Can you imagine where you would be this summer if not for your gig… oh i forgot you would have been in Alaska!
    In a way I am glad you were there since that is the part of Wisconsin we have not explored, so thank you for that. Just don’t bring ticks when you come and visit us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.