Glines Canyon & Skygazing

A few weeks ago, TBG asked me if I wanted to go up to Hurricane Ridge and do our weekly hike in the snow. He was serious. I had to think about my response carefully. Not because I didn’t know what it was, but because what immediately sprang to my lips wasn’t going to end pretty. I had to avoid the unproductive emotional girlie response about how after all these years he should know me and how could he ask that knowing how much I hate snow and if he really loved me that question would never, ever have even occurred to him. I don’t think I was able to overcome a pointed stare, though, as I did respond with, “Hell no.”

We have done varying lengths of the Glines Canyon Overlook Trail before, but had never gone to the overlook area proper.

The beginning of the trail is the old Olympic Hot Springs Road, which is still paved up to the river, where it washed out in a big storm subsequent to the breaching of the dam.

After that, there is a Bypass Trail through the woods that eventually re-connects with the roadway. As you can see, we were in a good amount of shade, but it was a sunny and warmer than normal day.

I took advantage of the easy grade, and used my walking stick to practice my sword fighting scene. We saw only a sparse handful of other trail-users, mostly singletons on bikes.

There was no one else around when we reached the east side overlook. The walkway, railings, and still-intact glass globes (how have those escaped vandalism?!) were a charming sight.

It is possible to hike in to the other side of the dam, where we could see interpretive signs and a seemingly more developed/maintained visitor-type area, and we will do that another day.

The air was filled with swirls of Barn and Violet-green Swallows and Vaux’s Swifts, all far too fast for photos.

The views over the railing were straight down into the roiling turquoise water in Glines Canyon.

The concrete platform on “our” side begged for a bench or a picnic table, but since neither existed, after enjoying the views over Smokey Bottom (what used to be Lake Mills,) we walked back out to the trail to find a shady spot.

Before settling on a perfect luncheon log, we ignored the slippery path and bear-sighting signs, and explored a short section of sun-dappled fairyland trail. We did, eventually, come upon a boggy, muddy section and let that make our decision to head back for our snack.

On our return trip, we spotted an easy place to access the river, and I couldn’t pass up the chance to ice my feet. Puddling Northern blue butterflies and a couple of different varieties of hatchling toads joined us at the river’s edge.

We passed the still-used forest stable area, though all the park mules were down at their lower yard, training new people. As much as I adore critters, I’ve always been kind of neutral on horses, but mules? I love those darn things, and if I was ever to have a horse, I wouldn’t, I’d have a mule.

As we walked back, TBG talked of how he thought a nighttime return trip to the overlook would be grand for Milky Way photos. He even posited returning that very night. Two things kept that from happening. One, I didn’t want to return quite that soon, and, two, the Northern Lights were set to put on the biggest show of our lifetimes, and his photographic interest was diverted to that.

Having seen the Aurora Borealis several times when I was stationed in North Dakota and being particularly tired that evening, I was just going to stay in bed and read while he went out to find a good spot to see and photograph them. Ha! Duh! As you are all well aware, pretty much the whole country was a good spot to view them, and not wanting to get out of my warm cocoon but thinking I should probably peek out, I did so about 11. Good thing, eh?

While TBG was photographing them from his vantage point at Three Crabs, I was wandering around our road, marveling at the fact that this light show was not just northern, but illuminating the sky in every direction. The “pole” point appeared to be directly over our house, making it seem like we were under an umbrella.

The following evening, I went to work concessions at the theatre and enjoy the show, and TBG recruited his friend, Norm, to accompany him back by bicycle to the Glines Overlook for those Milky Way shots.

To round out a week full of visual delights, my neighbor/friend/fellow birder, Melissa, called me up the street to her feeders to see the Evening Grosbeaks. They were another nemesis bird of mine, not interested in my feeder, though I’m only a few doors down and feeding the same treats. Choosy sons-of-guns!

Three males provided plenty of photo ops, though I still would love to see a female/young male with their often brighter mint-green beaks. That just gives me the excuse to spend more time in Melissa’s bird blind, now doesn’t it?

14 thoughts on “Glines Canyon & Skygazing

  1. Your approach to seeing the northern lights is the one I would take. Driveway pics for the win! Though TBG’s driftwood photos are pretty spectacular; I’m just glad I got to see them without trudging to the beach in the middle of the night. Ditto for the Milky Way shot.

    I find it interesting that a lot of the infrastructure from the decommissioned dam is still in place. I guess I assumed that all traces of the dam would be removed, but I guess people (us, the taxpayers) are only willing to spend the bare minimum on habitat restoration. It’s nice to have a destination with a viewing platform, though!

    Liked by 2 people

    • It was incredible that I only *had* to go as far as the driveway to see such a show. I saw some amazing displays in NoDak, but this rivalled them all.

      The dam removal is still controversial to this day, especially since Port Angeles suffers water shortages occasionally in the absence of that reservoir, and the salmon benefit isn’t all it was thought it would be. And that’s with the population of P.A. being very stable for decades. It was an amazing feat of engineering both in its construction and removal, and was (probably) best to leave as much intact as possible since just the destruction caused by bringing in equipment for dismantling is major. You say “bare minimum” as if it were a bad thing. 🤔

      Like

  2. I may have just uttered the F-bomb when I saw the northern lights photos. Not only did we miss the full eclipse this year (again), but we also missed this ridiculously stunning light show… Ughhhhh.

    And I would have personally kicked your behind if you didn’t drag yourself out to see this amazing display of amazingness in person.

    So, so, so jealous!

    As for TBG’s stunning photos, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: FTS!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are falling down on the job, missy! But you are in good company — I couldn’t believe that I was the only one out wandering on my street that night. I was very, very tempted to go knocking on doors, not only to tell them all to come see the show, but to have them turn off their damn outdoor beacons!

      Like

    • If I recall correctly, you guys have done this hike, too? It is a nice one, good distance, not difficult, lots to see — perfect! Did you see the Northern Lights from your place? It was amazing how widespread the viewing area was!

      Like

      • There were some lighter views of the Northern Lights but you needed to get out a ways. I’m embarrassed to say we didn’t stay up and drive:( Yes, we did do this hike and also visited the opposite side to see the plaques.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. While our Northern Lights are not as spectacular as yours, I captured our pinkish/purplish night sky in Wickenburg! Love that pic of the light illuminating on top of your house! Great capture.

    As always TBGs milky way shots are the best. I still have not gathered motivation to attempt takin a similar capture.

    Liked by 2 people

    • So incredible how far south the lights were, isn’t it? Even if they weren’t as bright where you were, just the fact that you could see them is so cool. I’m with you, and don’t relish the thought of bumbling around in the dark for some photos. I’m happy to keep the home fires buring while TBG goes on those types of adventures 😀

      Like

    • Next time we see each other you and I are going to lose some sleep getting out to do a milky way photo session. I’ve already picked out a possible location.👍

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your Northern Lights photos are fantastic!! And TBG’s Milky Way photo is extraordinary, like a river of light meeting up with the stars. I love it! Sadly, we were still suffering from that evil virus and didn’t drag ourselves out to see the Northern Lights. We sorely regretted it when we saw photos neighbors had taken, but the next night when we DID drag ourselves out, there was too much cloud cover. We’re making up for it by enjoying the magical light show that fireflies are currently putting on just for us in the trees around our house. 🙂

    Yeah, a big fat NO to hiking in the snow. But your Glines Canyon hike was lovely, and your description of a sun-dappled fairyland trail is perfect. And Evening Grosbeaks in your neighborhood! Aren’t their colors just spectacular? They used to flock to our feeders in Oregon, but just for a short time in late spring each year. I miss them. Thanks for always sharing your birdies with us.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’m sorry you missed the show because of the stupid sickies. I hope you’re both feeling much better by now. Fireflies are a wonderful consolation prize, though! I’ve been looking for those darn Evening Grosbeaks since we got back here. Although they’re not uncommon here at all and have been spotted everywhere for a couple months now, I could NOT find any until Melissa called me over to her yard. I swear they looked at me smugly. They are easily one of our most beautiful local natives. Currently, I have a pair of bonded crows who discovered the peanuts, and who I’ve been watching break apart the mealworm block I got. They put pieces of it in the water, then come back later to gobble them up. So fun to watch.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.